top of page

Grieving Politics

For a long time now, I've been seeing evidence of severe grief in the American public. It only seems to be getting worse. The Kübler-Ross model of grief includes these things:

  1. Shock/Denial

  2. Anger

  3. Bargaining

  4. Depression

  5. Acceptance

It's an excellent way to understand coping with loss. What's lost? (A better question might be, "What's not lost?") Hope. Safety. Justice. Power. Stability. Pride. Peace.

Maybe you're feeling good today, but spend half a second in any form of media and you will see the abundance of grief. We're lost America.

Want to help? We need time. We need to feel our feelings. We need others to believe us when we feel our feelings and stick with us when we feel our feelings, so we can make it through them—not alone.

Unsplash Photo Cred: Vulcan Olmez

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page